Best places to get good Islamic fashion and, in contrast, pole gear.

Like many other exotic dancers, I have what I refer to as a “me” or “daytime” wardrobe and a “stripper” one. Both need topping up occasionally, but from entirely different sources. I thought I would share some of my favorites for each with you.

 

 

Modest Islamic Fashion:

Ugaasadda Clothing

A new online shop created by fellow Somali blogger Ugaasadda. Her business is based in Canada and so offers good shipping rates to those who live there and in the USA. While that doesn’t apply to me, the shipping is decently priced for other countries. She has a beautiful selection of hijabs which are constantly changing in colour as they quickly go out of stock ans new colours are made. A personal favourite of mine is the Nectarine Crepe, pictured below. She also has several dresses and shirts which look fantastically stylish.

 

Kabayare Fashion

This is another North American Somali clothing  online shop. As their business has had more time to grow than Ugaasadda’s, they have a much larger selection which contains both Somali tradtional clothing, such as dirac and baati, and generally modest items. All of which are very styish.

diracbanner-4_2

 

Nashata

Fancy going to the gym or out for a run, but concerned about your modesty? If that’s the case you can find sports hijabs in an abundance of colours as well as other modest, yet stylish gear. Just head on over to fellow blogger Fit Muslim Girl’s shop, who sells this brand on the side. I’m yet to buy from her, but I like the styles of her clothing and they all sound incredibly comfortable to work out in.

 

 

Pole Dancer Shoes & Clothing:

 

Mika Yogawear

For thoes of you who are into pole dancing soley for sport and would rather wear sporty pole outfits, Mika Yogawear has plenty of designs to chose from.  Their outfits focus on allowing one to dance on the pole effectively and comfortable rather than looking overly sexy.

 

Pleaser Shoes

Pleaser, as a brand, has to have the largest collection of pole dancing shoes available. They have a vast collection of shoes which contains platforms with heels between 5 1/2″ and 10″. Personally, I have no idea how anyone can manage to walk around, let alone pole dance in 10″ heels!! The red shoes below are 10″, for those of you who are curious. Some have a simple design while others are incredibly bold and interesting. The downside to ordering directly from the site is that you can only view prices after signing up for an account. Depending on where you live, it may also be easier to try a local store which can order in the pair that you like.

 

Banana Shoes

A fantastic place to get club shoes and outfits in the UK is Banana Shoes. They sell a range of brands, including Pleaser, Ellie Shoes and more. Since they are UK based, dancers in the UK and Europe will find better deals on shipping than they would on any US based sites, which should go without saying. An interesting thing I noticed they have that I’ve seen nowhere else are ballet heels, which keep the toes en point. They look intriguing, but excruciatingly painful.

 

 

Both:

eBay

Of course, there are many independent shops on eBay where both modest and overly sexy clothing can be found. Many come from shops in China and are very cheap to buy. You can’t always relay on the quality of these products, but if you wish to experiment with new looks without taking too much of a plunge financially, I recommend finding a few cheaply made versions first.

9 responses to “Best places to get good Islamic fashion and, in contrast, pole gear.

  1. Your blog is absolutely fascinating. Really, really interesting on several levels. I write books, and they’re full of all sorts of things on the “darker” side of life, so reading accounts from someone who strips is really helpful for me as a writer. But on a deeper level, your exploration of stripping vs. being a good Muslim girl makes for fantastic reading. You point out so many stereotypes that I never even realized I’d been holding, or hadn’t considered the other side of.

    I especially liked your mention in an earlier post about how wearing a hijab is like being in a secret club, you nod hello to others no matter what. When I was living in Japan, if I saw another foreigner–black, white, hijabi or otherwise–we’d always smile and nod. Outsiders together!

    I like the outfit with the “Tugba” logo best. Classy, understated, the scarf makes it. Just add big sunglasses and a cigarette in a long holder for instant glam.

    Really interesting. I’ll be waiting for your next post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m humbled by such a lovely response to my posts. Thank you very much! I’m pleased to hear someone has noticed some of the stereotypes I’ve tried to address while writing them. Others prefer to bash me for stripping and still calling myself Muslim. That’s interesting to hear about the ‘foreigner’s club’ over in Japan. I wonder how it feels to be a non-native Japanese in the same way that I’m not a ‘native’ Brit. I’d noticed that you have a book coming out this year. I’ll be looking out for it. Your writing has grabbed my attention and I’m sure it’ll be a great read!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks so much! Hey, I’m not the one writing about a *seriously* under-represented view point.

        I’m betting the surface experience of being in Japan but not Japanese meant getting stared at a lot. When I stupidly dyed my hair blond, the staring went up 100%. During the year Obama got originally elected, people would lean out car windows to yell “We can do it!” at me in English. Very weird. Also some housing discrimination problems, getting followed around department stores. Overall it wasn’t a big deal, but sometimes got on my nerves. Is being a non-native Brit in Britain anything like that?

        Liked by 1 person

      • So if you’re a white foreigner in Japan they tend to assume you are American? Funny. I can see how blond hair would get you even more attention 😉

        As for being a non-native Brit, I usually feel like I fit in, but it does partially depend on where I am and how diverse the area is. I’ve found that I started to get more strange looks when I started wearing a headscarf, but now that even more Muslims live around here it draws much less attention as people are more used to seeing them. I still often feel uncomfortable in airports though, sadly (it’s wonderful to get “randomly” searched!).

        Like

Leave a Reply

